Dr. B.C. Atulomah


BA, MLIS, MPP, CLN, Ph.D (Library and Information Science)





The Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro library came into existence with the establishment of the Polytechnic in 1979.

The Library is the heart of the Polytechnic as it is responsible for the management of resources such as books, journals, electronic materials etc necessary for academic pursuits; i.e. studying, learning and research in the Institution.




The Polytechnic Librarian is a Principal Officer of the Polytechnic, an academic staff, a member of the Academic Board and the Administrative Head of the Library Division who is directly responsible and reporting to the Rector for the day-to-day administration of the Library.


The Library is a large division of the Polytechnic System.  It comprises the following Sections/Units:


(a)  Acquisition  (b)  Classification  (c)  Cataloguing  (d)  Circulation  (e)  Serials  (f)  Reference  (g)  Short Loan or Reserved Book Resources  (h)  Government Document and Special Collections  (i)  Audio Visuals Resources  (j)  Research and Bibliographic Services  (k)  Bindery Services  (l)  Reprographic Services



As a result of proper administrative convenience and effective performance, the

above listed sections/units have been compressed into two departments:

(a)  Collection Development and Technical Services Department comprising the following units – (i)  Acquisition (Book Selection), (ii)  Cataloguing and  (iii)  Classification

(b)  Readers and Serial Services Department – with the following units: Circulation, Reference, Short Loan/Reserved Book Resources, Periodicals – Journals Special Collections Publication, Government Documents and Student Projects.

  Bindery, Reprographic and Audio Visual directly under Polytechnic Librarian.

Each of the departments is headed by a Chief Librarian.




Each department has a Head of Department directly responsible or reporting to Polytechnic Librarian.  The Head of Department will have Principal Librarian, Senior Librarians, Librarian I, and Librarian II as professional subordinates while Library Officer Cadre as para-professionals and Confidential Secretaries, Technicians, Typists, Library Assistants are Library Supportive Staff.

The Professional, para-professional Librarians and the Confidential Secretaries, Typists and others like Technicians etc who are on grade level 07 and above are the Senior Staff while the Library Assistants are the Junior Staff of the department in the Library Division.

The staff cadre in each of the department of the Library are allocated appropriate job schedule to enhance efficient job performance.




The Technical Services Department is made up of:

i.    Collection Development/Acquisition Section:  this is where Library materials are such as books, journals, encyclopaedia etc can be acquired.

ii.    Classification and Cataloguing Section:  Newly acquired Library materials are classified and catalogued in this section before they are placed on the shelves for Library users’ use.

iii.   Audio Visual Section:  Audio visual materials are managed by this Section.

iv.    Bindery Section:  Books and projects are sent to this section for binding

The Readers Services Department is made up of:

i.    Circulation Section:  this is where charging and discharging of books take place. 

The Section also handles registration of new users and ensures that the Library is conducive for its users.

ii.    Reserved books Section:  Special books and other materials are reserved in this

      Section because they are in constant demand and the Library has few copies of       

      them.  Books here cannot be borrowed out of the Library.

iii.   Reference Section:  Reference materials such as Encyclopaedia, Manuals,

       Almanacs etc are managed for the use of readers.

iv.   Reprographic (photocopying) Unit:  Materials such as pages of books, question   

      papers etc are photocopied here.

v.    Serials/Special Collection Unit:  Journals, past question papers and newspapers

      can be obtained from this Section.

vi.    E-Library Section:    this is a modern electronic facility with avalanche of

         e-resources such as e books and journals for readers’ use.  It also boasts of 200        

        computer systems for its users.

vii.   Administrative Department:  this supervises the entire Library system.




The E-Library is subscribed to sciencedirect, AGORA, HINARI, DARES among other databases.  In addition, it has thousands of e-books on its Institutional repository.




The Library is open to both staff and students on:

During Session:   Monday to Friday             -  8.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.

                             Saturdays                        -   10.00 a.m. – 2.00 p.m.

During Examinations:   Monday to Friday   -    8.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.

                                      Saturdays               -    2.00 p.m. – 6.00 p.m.

                                       Sundays               -    2.00 p.m. – 6.00 p.m.

During Environmental Sanitation days                  -    10.30 a.m. – 2.00 p.m.

During Holidays:   Mondays – Fridays        -     8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m.



The Library lends books and other materials to students (full time and part time) and staff (academic and administrative).  The lending policy is such that a staff could borrow six (6) books for a period of four weeks renewable when no other user is in need of same.

A student on the other hand can borrow four books for two weeks (regular loan) while reserved books can only be used per student for two hours.




The Library offers the following services to ensure maximum use of its facilities by members of the academic community: